Facebook Login and Facebook Sign Up General Safety Tips Click Here!!!

Watch Lunar Eclipse Online

June 1, 2011

The world will witness the longest total lunar eclipse today since 2000.  Totality, the event where Earth’s shadow completely covers the moon, will last for about an hour and 41 minutes.

The dramatic event will see the moon changing colours and turning blood red.

The lunar eclipse will be visible all over India except in places which might be cloudy.

Viewers outside of North America will be able to see the lunar eclipse, while the Europeans will miss the early stages of the event.

Can the lunar eclipse be seen directly with naked eyes?

Unlike solar eclipses, lunar eclipses are perfectly safe to view without any special glasses or equipment.

Lunar eclipse 2011A lunar eclipse occurs when the moon passes behind the earth so that the earth blocks the sun’s rays from striking the moon. This can occur only when the Sun, Earth, and Moon are aligned exactly, or very closely so, with the Earth in the middle. Hence, there is always a full moon the night of a lunar eclipse. The type and length of an eclipse depend upon the Moon’s location relative to its orbital nodes. The most recent total lunar eclipse occurred on December 21, 2010, at 08:17 UTC.

Here are the turning points for Wednesday’s eclipse:

  • Penumbral eclipse (P1): 1:24 p.m. ET (17:24 GMT)
  • Partial eclipse begins (U1): 2:22 p.m. ET (18:22 GMT)
  • Total eclipse begins (U2): 3:22 p.m. ET (19:22 GMT)
  • Total eclipse ends (U3): 5:02 p.m. ET (21:02 GMT)
  • Partial eclipse ends (U4): 6:02 p.m. ET (22:02 GMT)
  • Penumbral eclipse ends (P4): 7 p.m. ET (23:00 GMT)

All this is what North Americans could be missing, unless you check out the Web. Here’s a listing of scheduled eclipse webcasts. Some of these links might be duds, due to cloudy weather, technical glitches or plug-in requirements. But let’s hope that at least a few will serve up a good show:

  • AstroNation: German-language website plans to put up webcam views.
  • Astro-Viten: Norwegian website plans a webcast.
  • Baraket Observatory: Webcast from Israel.
  • Eclipse Chasers Athenaeum: Ustream video served up by New Delhi group.
  • Eclipse-Live: Via the University of Applied Sciences, Offenburg, Germany.
  • ServiAstro: Spanish website gears up for live broadcast.
  • Sky-Live.TV: Eclipse coverage from the Canary Islands.
  • Slooh: Web-based eclipse coverage from South Africa, Dubai and Cyprus.
  • SWAN Siliguri: Webcast by the Sky Watchers Association of North Bengal.

    You May Also Be Interested In...

  1. Watch IPL On Youtube
  2. Watch IPL 4 Live Online Streaming 2011
  3. How much do you depend on Google for earning online?
  4. Best Ways to Generate Traffic and Earn Money Online
  5. Get Free McDonald’s Coupons On Online Mobile Recharge

Article by

Admin is the Founder and Administrator of Tech Blog. He love to explore the tech world. He is a part time dedicated blogger, coder and designer of Xinz.

Sarami has written 305 awesome articles for us at Tech and Money Making Blog

| Blog → Tech Blog

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

Previous post:

Next post: